Blog Archives

Drop Out Orchestra Unleash New Podcast, Nancy Whang Collab, And More!

Drop-Out-OrchestraSeeing new Drop Out Orchestra on our newsfeed is kind of like injecting 100% pure excitement directly into our bloodstream. The mysterious disco project sat in with Queen & Disco for a brand new podcast this week! As is tradition, they’ve put together an entire hour of Drop Out edits and remix exclusives. One of the featured tunes on the mix is their new collaboration with the sensational Nancy Whang! Download the podcast below for free and listen to “I Was Made For loving You (featuring Nancy Whang)” before it’s official release on September 19th!

We’re not done yet guys. The podcast also kicks off with their gritty new remix of Tronik Youth’s “Edible Thoughts”, which just dropped last week. Everyone has a dark side, and this is where the guys in DOO have decided to show theirs. Listen to it now >>>


Drop Out Orchestra: The March Mix Session Has Arrived

304792_261032260602803_119239938115370_708445_1476046135_nTune In. Turn Up. And Drop Out.

Still waiting on those American tour dates guys, but this new mix will have to suffice for the time being. Carried out with the elusive Drop Out Orchestra code of conduct, we have one solid collection of unforgiving disco beats packed together in a time machine of a mixtape. With two DOO releases, an old school edit of Thelma Houston, and Shit Robot’s new collaboration with Nancy Whang “Do That Dance” in the mix, we could think of much worse ways to spend an hour. We do have to say though, we could listen to Nancy Whang sing over disco and house rhythms all…day…long


Drop Out Orchestra August/September Mix Session

freaksBrand new mix from the strange and cryptic disco collective, Drop Out Orchestra! And as always, it’s stocked full with their own work, featuring two remixes and a new single.

>> Drop Out Orchestra- August/September Mix via Soundcloud <<

01. Decibels – Regulator Moderator (Bufi Remix)
02. L’Enfant – See Me Now (Drop Out Orchestra Remix) + Diana acapella
03. L’Equipe du Son – Beauty Is The Light (Super Fuzz 3000 LoFT Rework)
04. Drop Out Orchestra feat Steven Kimber – Tough Love
05. Mousse T feat Boris Lennings – Brother On The Run (The Reflex Remix)
06. Eurythmics – Sexcrime (Nineteen Eighty Four) DOO Edit
07. Jkriv & The Disco Machine – I Can’t Be Alone Tonight
08. Kraak & Smak feat Sam Duckworth – Good For The City (Moullinex Remix)
09. Drop Out Orchestra feat Vinny Vero – Be Free With Your Love (DOO New Version)
10. Capri feat Beyou – Disco Re Poch
11. Behling & Simpson – Hurt Me More
12. The Amplifetes – You Want It (Munk Remix)


Drop Out Orchestra Live @ Sputnik Club


Drop Out Orchestra recorded a live performance they did earlier this month, and much to our satisfaction, it’s content exceeded far beyond our already presuming optimism.

Listen to Drop Out Orchestra LIVE! @ Sputnik Club

Drop Out are quite possibly some of the best producers in the scene currently, and much of that is due to their unique approach to how their music is made. Similar to Tiger & Woods or Daft Punk, they remain evasive in all media interactions by never disclosing their identities, participating in seldom interviews, and blacking out their faces in any public released photos to preserve the music. They firmly believe that image is irrelevant when juxtaposed to music, and the hour of super-funk disco in this set will strongly aver those convictions. Although most of the music is done by two Swedish partners, other artists from around the world are constantly being brought in their projects, keeping a fresh spin on every original they put out. For their on stage performances they do live mixing in accompaniment with half of the duo playing live bass, something actually really hard to pull of without sounding slightly annoying, and he’s got it down.

It would be naive to categorize them as DJ’s. These guys work with so much diligence and strict adherence to their direction. All the other aspects of their manufacturing process greatly outweigh their time on the decks. Not only does one play the bass live, he plays it really well, with an onslaught of effects, and he plays it for songs in the mix they didn’t even produce or remix, what few there are.They are literally composers of a sonic orchestra.  All these factors result in megatons of radiating energy on stage. This show is a ten.