Monthly Archives: September 2014

Tiga Hits The Cover Of Mixmag, Exclusive Mix Below

10614273_10152655490155837_7322468557158421644_nUsually we’d leave it to Mixmag to tell you about stuff related to, well, Mixmag. We can’t resist sharing the labor of bringing this month’s cover mix however. Each month the electronic media giants feature a new artist on the cover, and with it an exclusive mix they’ve put together for the occassion. For October’s issue, they’ve chosen Tiga, one of house music’s longest running, and consistent icons to date. This guy likes to keep things modest, but he’s been leaving his mark on music for decades. When he does have something to say, it’s probably something you should take time to hear. Listen to his exclusive cover mix now!

Tiga  (n) [tee, gah’/] – a cheeky electronic music producer from Montreal who specializes in variations of extraterrestrial house music and robot mating calls.



LIVE ALERT: Hot Since 82 and Psychemagik In Brooklyn November 1st!

WHP-hot-sinceMark your calendars, put on your favorite deep house mix, and get hyped. The guys at Output have been working hard to put together some ridiculous shows this fall, and we’re really excited about this one. This November, Hot Since 82 and Psychemagik are coming together for one absurd, dance-fueled event! Two of the UK’s top acts in the house and disco circuits are hitting Brooklyn’s finest nightclub to show NYC how it’s really done. Try not to drool too much, you don’t want your laptops to short out before you buy tickets! Grab them below >>>



It just so happens that we have some new music from the Psychemagik duo too! Download the new podcast they did for DJ Mag below!



*NEW* Dashdot- September Mix

10420138_797980176899354_4022549611779630758_nTime to get down, or lay down.  The Brazilian house duo Dashdot dropped a new exclusive mix this week! These guys give a great name to electronic music producers and DJ’s alike. They hopped on the decks and mixed us a session of music that THEY put their heart and soul into making. Almost an hour of deep originals and snazzy remixes await you below. It doesn’t get much more honest than that. Dig in everybody.

1- Dashdot _ Let the Light feat. Zz (Original Mix)
2 – Renato Ratier _ Temple Talent (Dashdot Rmx)
3 – Funky Fat _ Pirate (Dashdot Rmx)
4 – Dashdot _ Thats Why (Original Mix)
5 – Dashdot _ All Around (Original Mix)
6 – Dashdot _ Diet of Worms (Original Mix)
7 – Dashdot & Thomaz Krauze _ Jakindahouse (Original Mix)
8 – Dashdot & Gabe _ NN (Original Mix)
9 – Dashdot _ Get High (Original Mix)
10 – Vintage Culture _ Circles feat. Ashibah (Dashdot Rmx)

REVIEW: Ichisan Breathes New Life Into Space Disco With Kristina EP

988468_10203766644795893_9196344713842666601_nWere you starting to wonder where all the world’s cosmic tuneage went? Maybe just a little? Well put on your helmets, strap yourselves in, and say goodbye to gravity folks. It’s time for a brand new release from Ichisan. You may swoon accordingly.

Earlier in the year he told us he’d be doing a couple of releases as a precursor to his debut album (which is still in the works). This summer he gave fans a taste of his Extra Ball EP, due on Catune Records this fall. Now, a man of his word, here is a preview of the ‘Kristina’ EP, his second installment of space-laced dance tunes! The Kristina collection is set to drop September 15th on Internasjonal Records and includes two new originals. Despite it’s short length, the EP ranges from the soothing psychedelic overtones one might hear in his mixes, to the more dance-fueled guilty pleasures we hear at his shows. Both tracks showcase a more upbeat and raw sound this time around, an atmospheric result of his synthesizer collection no doubt. Read a full review and preview both tracks below! Space disco, we’ve missed you dearly. Read the rest of this entry

The New Deal – Chicago Late Night LIVE *Soundboard*

The New Deal posted another recording. Listen to their recent late-night performance in Chicago below, featuring a massive TWO-SONG setlist!

Shit Robot Premieres Video For “Do It Right (featuring Lidell Townsell)”

homepage_large.814ec4a4Marcus Lambkin, aka Shit Robot, unveiled his new music video for “Do It Right (featuring Lidell Townsell)” this morning. The song comes from his recent ‘We Got A Love’ LP, released on DFA Records last spring. Thanks largely in part to director Jeff Conway’s collaboration, the video tips a hat to old school house records with a pretty unique visual layout. Not that you need one, but see it as an excuse to bump one of our favorite tracks on the album again. Watch the video here >>>


NEW Kolombo and Miguel Campbell Collaboration On Lou Lou Records!

KolombologoIt seems like ridiculously awesome collaborations are the theme this week. Yesterday we brought you the new Drop Out Orchestra/ Nancy Whang tune. You would have thought that was exciting enough, but you would be wrong. So we happily present you with “Brightlights”, the new collaboration from Miguel Campbell and Kolombo! Two amazing talents from two prestigious electronic music labels (Hot CreationsLouLou Records), making music as one unit. On one side you have the sleezy ghetto-funk style of Kolombo, on the other side, you have the dreamy deep-house/disco influence of Miguel. The end result of this combination is an electric, almost Balearic sounding house tune with a touch of that neon shuffle. You may have already heard this beat start to make it’s rounds during the summer, but now you can put a face to that bass. It wouldn’t be inappropriate to call it an instant classic with these two at the helm. Now we just have to bill them somewhere in the US together. Listen to “Brightlights” below before it’s official September 11th release on LouLou Records!

Drop Out Orchestra Unleash New Podcast, Nancy Whang Collab, And More!

Drop-Out-OrchestraSeeing new Drop Out Orchestra on our newsfeed is kind of like injecting 100% pure excitement directly into our bloodstream. The mysterious disco project sat in with Queen & Disco for a brand new podcast this week! As is tradition, they’ve put together an entire hour of Drop Out edits and remix exclusives. One of the featured tunes on the mix is their new collaboration with the sensational Nancy Whang! Download the podcast below for free and listen to “I Was Made For loving You (featuring Nancy Whang)” before it’s official release on September 19th!

We’re not done yet guys. The podcast also kicks off with their gritty new remix of Tronik Youth’s “Edible Thoughts”, which just dropped last week. Everyone has a dark side, and this is where the guys in DOO have decided to show theirs. Listen to it now >>>

The Magician- FALL TOUR Announced!

10648901_786221324762334_6944277795615295643_oThe Magician just pulled some fall tour dates out of his hat! Take it from us folks, that silver-tuned Casanova with a wand is about drop some heat on the USA. His former partnership with Aeroplane is barely a memory now. This artist has more than proven his worth in the electronic world as an individual heavy hitter. In just a few years he’s gone from playing a school-house rave in Connecticut (we were there), to having a video on MTV, worldwide radio presence, and bookings at venues like Exchange LA. The Magician puts 110% passion into his music and his performances. His styles may have shifted over the years, but we take full responsibility if you don’t have a blast at these shows. As far as the Northeast is concerned, he’ll be hitting Output in Brooklyn with the FIXED crew! Hope you’re ready for a pop soaked, piano-laden house party everybody!